Rahman rocks at IIFA show

A. R. Rahman performs at the 2017 International Indian Film Academy Festival's IIFA Rocks at MetLife Stadium

Day one of IIFA Rocks celebrated all the people behind the screens and 25 years of A.R. Rahman

The 18th IIFA Rocks was a celebration of A.R. Rahman’s journey in cinema. And nothing could dampen the spirit tonight. Not even the incessant rains that conspired since morning. Though they were intermittent rains, they too gave themselves a breather post 10 p.m. just to allow the maestro enthrall the audience.

The host for the night Manish Paul and Riteish Deshmukh had the audience in splits with their one liners. The show started with Kamal Khan singing all the Chartbusters and also had the audience grooving to many of the Salman Khan numbers.
Diljit Dosanjh’s songs calmed down the many who had waited for the rain to die down and the show to start!

A.R. Rahman’s show started with the popular track from Dil Se. Joining him on stage were the very talented Jonita Gandhi, Neeti Mohan, Javed Ali, Benny Dayal and Haricharan. Other numbers included ‘Dil Hai Chota Sa’ (Roja), ‘Agar Tum saath Ho’ (Tamasha), ‘Naadan Parindey’ (Rockstar) ‘Humma Humma’ (Bombay) and ‘Enna Sonna’ (Ok Jaanu). The special rendition from Hariharan, Aditi Rao Hydari and Kailash Kher were the icing on the cake.

A.R. Rahman inaugurated his social initiative ‘One Heart Foundation’ to help people from the industry.

Here’s the technical awardees list:

Best background score: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Choreography: Adil Shaikh for ‘Kar Gayi Chul’ from Kapoor and Sons

Cinematography: Anil Mehta for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

Sound Design: Pranav Shukla for Mirzya

Production Design: Aparna Sud and Anna Ipe for Neeraja

Editing: Bodhaditya Bandopadhyay for Pink

Make Up: Greg Cannom for Fan.

Action: Larnell Stovall, Parvez Shaikh Arasu for Sultan

Costume Designing: Manish Malhotra for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Sound Mixing: Anuj Mathur for Sultan

Special effects: Red Chillies VFX for Fan

Dialogue: Ritesh Shah for Pink

Screenplay: Ritesh Shah for Pink

Best engineer: Shadab Rayeen for Ae Dil hai Mushkil